MAUD PRESTON PALENSKE MEMORIAL LIBRARY BOARD ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES Tuesday, July 25, 2023 DRAFT

Call to order: Board President Ren Baldwin (City of St. Joseph) called the meeting to order at 7:55 p.m.

Other board members present: Vice President Melissa Clapper (St. Joseph Township); Secretary Rick Ast (City of St. Joseph); and Betty Mundy (St. Joseph Township), Kathy Buursma (City of St. Joseph), Mimi Elwell, (St. Joseph Township), Patrice Rose (St. Joseph Township), Barbara Thompson (City of St. Joseph; and Emily Zito-Desimone (City of St. Joseph).

Also present: Library Director Paula Stakley; Virginia Antonson of the Friends of the Library; Kevan Truman, a member of the Friends of the Library who said he also wished to talk as a private citizen; and by remote, Nicole Gibby.

Minutes: Clapper moved to approve the minutes of the 2022 annual meeting, and Elwell supported the motion. The board in a unanimous vote approved accepting the minutes.

Treasurer's report: Buursma moved to approve the financial report for the previous year. Mundy supported the motion, and the board voted unanimously to accept the report.

Statistical report: Stakley noted that library attendance "is very much up" this year. The library on July 24 saw 410 visitors, Stakley said. "A lot of big downtown stores don't get that much," she added.

Meeting schedule and library closings: Baldwin said there are no changes, and "closing dates are pretty much set by contract."

Year in review: "For me, a doozy of a year," Stakley said. "I really appreciate you putting your faith in me. Thank you."

"Stronger together," Clapper said.

The board had named Stakley as director in January.

Slate of officers: Elwell moved to approve the proposed slate of board officers for 2023-24, and Buursma seconded her motion. The board voted unanimously to elect the slate of officers.

Board officers for 2023-24 are: President Ren Baldwin, Vice President Melissa Clapper, Treasurer Emily Zito-Desimone, and Secretary Rick Ast.

Adjournment: Ast moved to adjourn the annual meeting, and Ewell supported the motion. The board voted unanimously in support, and Baldwin declared the meeting adjourned at 8:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Secretary William Ast